14
Dec
08

Josy John – The Bass Superhero!

When I was first called to play for ‘The Raghu Dixit Project’, I knew I was playing where one of the best bassists in the country, Josy John had left a mark! On my best day, I am just about a fraction of what he does reguarly!

When Raghu called me today to let me know that he was in town and recording for Raghu’s upcoming movie, I had to clear out everything else I was up to and just sit and watch him record some of the most brilliant bass playing you will ever hear in a Kannada movie!

Sitting here for the past three hours watching him has taught me more than I have learnt in a long time. His bass playing reminds me of how at the end of the day, its not about technique, or the “right way” to play (he is as un-orthodox a bass player as you will find), its all about your groove and your choice of notes!

For the super star that he is, he is probably the most unassuming, down to earth musician you will ever find. I can guarantee you his humility will completely blow your mind!

Just to show you what I mean, take a look at the video here and when you’ve finally picked up your jaw that must have hit the floor by now, rewind and watch it again! *THAT* is what a bass guitar can do!

This is a video taken from Antaragni’s show at BITS Pilani, a couple of years back.

4 Responses to “Josy John – The Bass Superhero!”


  1. December 14, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    He’s playing the base like a lead guitar.. Awesomeness!!!

  2. December 27, 2008 at 10:52 am

    he is great. his finger roll on the string as butter rolls on bread. great !! excellent !! fabulous !!

  3. 3 Jinsy John
    January 8, 2009 at 10:52 am

    ROCKSTAR!!

  4. 4 Vinay
    January 23, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    he’s doing fuckin brilliant stuff at a few places. Thanx much!


Leave a Reply

