03
Nov
08

‘Rock On’ for Humanity

It was a true splash and dash when we had to land up in the morning on Friday in Mumbai for the Rock On for Humanity gig. It was the same day that ‘Psycho’ was premiering and Raghu was torn between the two 🙂

The band made it earlier, and Raghu as a compromise managed to catch the first glimpses of the film and more importantly the crowd reaction to the music and the movie before he rushed to Mumbai for what would be a truly magical (or should I say ‘Magik’al) night!

The sound check went on quite well and Dwayne on the mixer did a fabulous job of helping us get things in order in under 30 minutes and Bobby and Nikhil of OML worked overtime to ensure that all glitches like the massive power cut in between our soundcheck were all sorted out and nothing repeated in the evening!

The gig started early and surprisingly for a show that had so many bands playing, was on time for the entire evening! The line up for the entire evening was easily among the best gig lineups I have seen in the country and there was no band that you could really skip .. it was 5 hours of pure entertainment!

We were up on stage after Avial (who I watched for the first time ever live and LOVED!) and we proceeded to completely rock the venue! The audience was just brilliant and seemed to be rooting for us from the word go! The set consisted of Hey Bhagwan, Mysore Se Aayi and Har Saans Mein as we had only 20 minutes or rather 3 songs to play because they needed to shut the show down at 10 PM. But like Siva says, it drains you more when you put 200% in a 3 song set than play a whole show and it was close to what happened 😀

It was really nice to see the reaction we got on stage and was even better to meet with all the ‘Big Boys from Bollywood’. What warmed my heart the most was the fact that the organizing team raised *4 CRORES* for the cause and achieving that around a concert in India makes me happier than ever!

So a HUGE round of thanks and appreciation to the entire team that put this together and especially to Farhan Akthar, Arjun Rampal and Ritesh Sidhwani who came up with and drove this idea to such success!

If any of you was at the event and happened to catch us play, please do leave us a comment! let us know what you thought.

12 Responses to “‘Rock On’ for Humanity”


  1. November 4, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Hi Raghu and team,

    I was there at the event and I must say I really liked your performance. I fell in love with “Hey Bhagwaan” from the moment I listened to it. I unconsciously keep humming it all the time.

    Thanks for the great time! I look forward to attending more of your events in near future.
    Pawan

  2. November 7, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Hey Arjun!

    Thanks for the review 🙂 glad you liked the show!

    -Gaurav

  3. 4 Sweet Poison
    November 8, 2008 at 11:14 am

    To Raghuji,

    Hellow Sir,
    I was not knowing you a year back but now I only tune to your music only whenever I get time..
    I just want to meet Raghuji only once with my sis.. She is die hard fan on you.. As we came to knwo that you wil gonna be perform in ROCK ON for HUMANITY without any second thuoght we got passes of the concert and really its awesome..

    I always dreamt about live performance on the song ‘HAR SAANS MAIN’ and my dream already came true..

    Sir, tell me how can I contact you.. I am dieing to see you face to face.. You are so great on VOCALS which makes me to forget all the surroundings.

    Pls pls pls tell me how do I reach you??

    my number : +91-9769-422-429
    email : ankitkumar.chheda@gmail.com
    I am from Mumbai and can travel anywhere in India just to meet you..

    “Raghuji sunnlo baat humari
    darshan dedo apne,
    diwane kar jaate ho kuch geet gaa kar,
    chain udaa jaate ho dil ko chu kar..”

    I know they are not attractive but these are from HEARTS

    pls sir
    my number : +91-9769-422-429
    email : ankitkumar.chheda@gmail.com

    Hope you get this message.
    PLs GOD yeh message Raghuji tak pahucha dena

    From A Die Hard Fan,
    Ankitkumar Chheda (Mumbai)
    [Nick – Swwet Poison]

  4. 5 Prajakta Mohod
    November 8, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    hello everyone,

    It is an unforgettable experience…The entire RDP rocks…gaurav,jithin,vijay are amazing siva is a gr8888 drummer..out of all the drummers from various bands, [hey no offence against neone] only he dared to stand,come out in the front,n play doin so many actions man…..n he holds the sticks veryyy differently…..gr8 gr8 gr8…
    we enjoyed singin “HAR SAANS MAIN HAR DHADKAN MAIN HO TUM,AE KHUDA KASAM…
    raghu sir u r an amazing singer n a musician…u make the audience get up n dance in whichever fashion inspires them…
    i ll always luk forward to attend all of ur concerts in mumbai….

    nd to tell u,loooottttssss of ppl(esp my bro n his frnds)are waitin for u to perform at houston,texas….my bro nd his friends…
    r u plannin ur concert thr netym in future???

  5. 6 Prajakta Mohod
    November 8, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    hello everyone,

    It is an unforgettable experience…The entire RDP rocks…gaurav,jithin,vijay are amazing siva is a gr8888 drummer..out of all the drummers from various bands, [hey no offence against neone] only he dared to stand,come out in the front,n play doin so many actions man…..n he holds the sticks veryyy differently…..gr8 gr8 gr8…
    we enjoyed singin “HAR SAANS MAIN HAR DHADKAN MAIN HO TUM,AE KHUDA KASAM…
    raghu sir u r an amazing singer n a musician…u make the audience get up n dance in whichever fashion inspires them…
    i ll always luk forward to attend all of ur concerts in mumbai….

    nd to tell u,loooottttssss of ppl(esp my bro n his frnds)are waitin for u to perform at houston,texas…
    r u plannin ur concert thr netym in future???

  6. 7 amon.by.the.sea
    November 12, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Hey RDP team,

    This was the first time I listened to your Band. I always wanted to buy and listen your album, but due to laziness and so on, I didn’t get a chance to buy iy. Finally on this concert I have listened and I think you guys rocked. I am definitely buyin your album.

    You guys sounded thoroughly original…You guys must be getting it a lot, I guess I needn’t even mention that.

    Keep rockin’ guys and surely will be looking out for you guys and your album in the future.

  7. November 17, 2008 at 2:52 am

    hey guys,

    The performance was absolutely brilliant… we did a review over at our blog…

    http://satellite.samasmedialab.net/?p=200

    Cheers,
    Akshay

  8. December 1, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    it was a awesome show. hope that this group will go on for ages

  9. 10 sanjay thapa
    December 22, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Dear Raghu,
    remember me ,this is sanjay thapa (ISMT 1997-1998),saw you on T.V …could not believe my eyes….after 10 years…wow…you did it man…..take care

  10. 11 Revathi
    December 22, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Hi there, I have heard you for the first time…probably got a little behind with my hindi songs because i’m here….but i saw you perform today on Sony tv on this program.

    Let me just you were amazing….your voice is just too nice.

    Me and my mom were watching the show….we wanted to take a break from it before you came on…but as we were leaving we heard you and we couldn’t get up until you were done. SIMPLY SUPERB! you just got our attention with the first song…I’m glad i got to see your performance and i must say i’m a fan of yours now.
    Good luck!

    Revathi

  11. 12 k2
    December 23, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Caught you guys for the first time on the Sony TV telecast. You guys were awesome – stage presence and music-wise! I’m definitely getting the album.

    Stick to your sound and don’t sell out 🙂


Leave a Reply

